Peter Shaw

The final match at University Playing Fields brought to an end another highly successful league season for the club’s young athletes with all six of our youngest teams finishing in the medals. Pride of place goes to the U13 girls who have now won the team title for the 5th successive year.

Our U13 boys recently defended their Northern title and won the league title as did the U15 girls. Northern champion JACK SPARK extended his unbeaten run in the U13 boy’s age group to five races to secure the individual league title and teamed up with FREDDIE MEREDITH and OSCAR SCHOFIELD to win the team race. We also finished 1st B and first C teams. Well done to ED LORD, JOSH COLQUHOUN-LYNN, GEORGE NOBLE, MATTHEW GARDNER, JACK BATTEN and FINN DAY.  JASMINE REED had her best run of the season to finish runner-up in the U13 girl’s race and teamed up with SARA CLOUGH and CARMEN SAFRANAUSKAS to win the team race. We also finished 1st B team due to fine runs by ANNABELLE BYGRAVE, IZZY APPLEBY, ELLIE GILDART and GRETA BROOKS.

Out U11 teams both performed well to finish 2nd on the day which means the girls will be overall silver medallists whilst the boys will be overall bronze medallists. BEN KEELEY had an incredible run to finish 3rd in the boy’s race despite having another year in this age group. Our other counters were brothers JAMES & LIAM O’BRIEN who had their best ever runs. We won the B race with fine runs from ALEX FRASER, FRASER SINCLAIR and TOBY HUNTLEY. The U11 girls finished 2nd A and were 1st B, C and D teams. Well done to IZZY HALL, LIZ SINCLAIR, IMOGEN HILL, EVA KARALIUS, BETH TITTENSOR, AVA BYGRAVE, MEGAN JOHNSON, STEFFI BERNDT DE LA O and HOLLY NOLAN.

Out U15 teams both finished 3rd on the day which means the boys will be overall bronze medallists whilst the girls had already won the league having already won the first three matches. Well done to IZZY BURKE, LIBBY HILL, OLIVIA NOLAN, ALEX JAMES, LUKE CHINOY, WILL PARKER, CHARLIE TITTENSOR, ZAC GAILLEMIN and ROBBIE RIGBY.

In the U17 age group ANOUSKA BROOKS, LAURA HOLE and ALEX ARMSTRONG-BOND are to be thanked for turning out to represent the club.

Sara Clough, Jasmine Reid and Ava Clough